top of page

ENB's Emerging Dancer Awards: The Finalists Have Their Say!


Tuesday 7th May sees the return of English National Ballet's Emerging Dancer Awards 2019. I caught up with the finalists to find out what they are most looking forward to at the awards and what it means to be named a finalist...

Rhys Antoni Yeomans, from Manchester

How/why did you first start to dance? At what point did you realise that you wanted to be a professional dancer?

From an early age I was always interested in movement and music, but it was truly when I went to see the show ‘Billy Elliot the Musical’ at the age of 10 in the West End that I fell in love with dance. From watching the show I was completely mesmerised how a young boy from up North (similar age to me at the time) was so determined to follow his dream of becoming a ballet dancer even though he had adverse comments and it not being the “normal” thing to do as a young lad. The show inspired me so much that I immediately asked my mum if I could audition for the part. I did and was offered a place in the training school of Billy Elliott which was very intense hard work - 7 days a week - learning tap, ballet, singing and gymnastics, but I stuck with it and eventually became Billy Elliot for two years in the West End.

Is there any dancer in particular who inspires you, or who you especially admire?

I feel so lucky that I’m in such an incredible company with lots of inspiring and talented artists, so I really do look up to my fellow colleagues at English National Ballet, especially Joe Caley, Jeffrey Cirio, Aitor Arrieta and Barry Drummond.

What drives your passion to dance?

It was during my Billy Elliot days that I truly developed a passion for dance. Dance became everything to me; when I performed something inside ignited and made me feel so alive. Over the years as I've matured as a dancer and become a professional, this feeling has grown stronger.

Have you had to sacrifice anything to pursue your dream of becoming a professional dancer?

Like many dancers, I have had to sacrifice so much time in order to pursue this career choice. Many little things like missing birthday parties as a kid and other family events I’ve missed because of this career. You make sacrifices to your personal life in being a ballet dancer, because of the time-consuming nature of it. It can be upsetting but at the end of the day it’s what I love to do so it’s worth it.

What have been the highlights of your career at English National Ballet so far?

Last year I had the opportunity of working with my favourite choreographer, the legendary William Forsythe. Being a part of his new work Playlist (Track 1, 2) was a truly special moment to start off my professional career and I will cherish the entire experience for the rest of my life. Playlist was recently nominated for an Olivier Award for ‘Best New Dance Production’ which again has made me so proud to have been a part of it.

This season I was lucky enough to dance the ‘Neapolitan Dance’ in Derek Deane’s Swan Lake, a role that I’ve always wanted to do growing up and to do it at such a young age was so rewarding.

What does it mean to you to be an Emerging Dancer finalist?

I’m so grateful that my friends and colleagues have voted me to be a part of the Emerging Dancer competition this year, as it’s such a great opportunity for a young artist like myself to perform a principal role on the Sadler's Wells stage. I’m also really excited about the rehearsal process beforehand as it’s given me a real opportunity to grow as a technician, dancer and artist. It also truly means a lot that I get to share this incredible process with my best friend Emilia and dancing with her in our pas de deux is definitely the cherry on top of the cake.

What are you most looking forward to about the Emerging Dancer Awards evening?

I’m really excited to see all my fellow finalists take to the stage and show off all their hard work over the past couple of months and to celebrate the future of dance and the young talent within English National Ballet.

I’m really excited to be performing William Forsythe’s ‘In The Middle, Somewhat Elevated’ for my contemporary solo, it has been a ballet that I’ve watched for most of my life and it truly is a dream come true to have been given permission from the man himself to be able to perform this for the competition.

Lastly, I’m really excited that my family and friends from home can see me do what I love most, and having them watching in the audience will mean the world to me and I want to make them proud.

Emilia Cadorin, from Castelfranco Veneto, Italy

How/why did you first start to dance? At what point did you realise that you wanted to be a professional dancer?

I started dancing following in the footsteps of my older sister who was going to ballet classes at a studio in our home town. I started at a young age; however, I didn’t think about being a professional ballet dancer until I was about 15 years old.

Is there any dancer in particular who inspires you, or who you especially admire?

Growing up I watched a lot of videos of Sylvie Guillem. However, there are a lot of dancers I admire and I’m lucky enough that I get to see them every day as many of them still dance, and are in fact dancing at English National Ballet. I am so grateful that I could ask them to be my coaches for Emerging Dancer.

What drives your passion to dance?

Music mainly drives my passion to dance as there’s nothing more fulfilling than moving to the sound of a beautiful melody or song (it doesn’t necessarily need to be classical music!).

Have you had to sacrifice anything to pursue your dream of becoming a professional dancer?

As I chose to do ballet and to become a dancer I wouldn’t say it has been too hard for me, of course I didn’t have as much free time as other teenagers did growing up. The sacrifice was more for my parents, having to bring me to ballet classes and supporting me financially, as well having to cope with having me away from home at a younger age than I would have been if I wasn’t involved in ballet.

What have been the highlights of your career at English National Ballet so far?

The highlights of my time here at English National Ballet so far have been performing at the Palais Garnier when we toured to Paris, performing Swan Lake in-the-round at the Royal Albert Hall, and recently performing in Pina Bausch’s Rite of Spring, Akram Khan’s Dust and Derek Deane’s Swan Lake.

What does it mean to you to be an Emerging Dancer Finalist?

I am very happy and excited to be one of the Emerging Dancer finalists. It’s very unexpected for me but I’ve enjoyed every single rehearsal. I feel very privileged to be getting one-on-one rehearsals with my coaches. Every correction they are giving me is gold and I am very thankful for the time and knowledge they are sharing with me so generously. I also feel very grateful to be having a contemporary solo containing a score newly composed for the occasion and a piece choreographed just for me.

What are you most looking forward to about the Emerging Dancer Awards evening?

The part I am most looking forward to of the Emerging Dancer evening will be getting to perform on the Sadler’s Wells Theatre stage with some of my friends in the company!

Julia Conway, from London

How/why did you first start to dance? At what point did you realise that you want to be a professional dancer?

I grew up watching ballet with my mum and always wanted to be up on the stage. I started baby ballet at about three and just continued as I got older. Then I never looked back!

Is there any dancer in particular who inspires you, or who you especially admire?

I’m absolutely in awe of Marianela Núñez. In my eyes she can do no wrong. I really admire how she can take on any role with such amazing diversity. I’m also inspired by Alina Cojocaru, who I believe is a true artist onstage.

What drives your passion to dance?

I’m driven by the joy of performing to a live audience as well as the endless possibilities of growth and improvement in ballet. There is always more to be perfected both technically and artistically and I’m eager to learn.

Have you had to sacrifice anything to pursue your dream of becoming a professional dancer?

I suppose I’ve sacrificed ‘normal’ teenage years and the university experience because I joined English National Ballet when I was 17. But I’ve been able to travel the world doing what I love so I have no regrets.

What have been the highlights of your career at English National Ballet so far?

Getting to dance Bluebird in The Sleeping Beauty and the pas de trois in Swan Lake have been amazing opportunities that I’ve had, and of course being a part of this year’s Emerging Dancer competition is a highlight.

What does it mean to you to be an Emerging Dancer finalist?

I feel so honoured to be an Emerging Dancer finalist. I remember watching the competition when I was 15, it’s crazy that now I will be dancing in it! I think that it is a really lovely chance for the less senior dancers to have the spotlight for an evening.

What are you most looking forward to about the Emerging Dancer Awards evening?

I’m most excited to share the stage at Sadler’s Wells with my incredible colleagues. I think it will be a fresh and uplifting evening.

Alice Bellini, from Milan, Italy How/why did you first start to dance? At what point did you realise that you wanted to be a professional dancer?

I started ballet when I was around six years old as my Mum introduced it to me. I was also doing synchronised swimming at that time but then at the age of 10 I realised that I wanted to concentrate on ballet and that is when I auditioned for La Scala Ballet School in Milan. I think it was there where I realised I wanted to do ballet as a profession.

Is there any dancer in particular who inspires you, or who you especially admire? I have always been inspired by the power and energy of Natalia Osipova (Principal Dancer of The Royal Ballet) but I love taking inspiration and advice from my colleagues at English National Ballet. You can learn from everyone here, because everyone has something to give and everyone is hungry to learn.

What drives your passion to dance? The chance to be able to express yourself in your own specific way on stage, putting yourself into different challenges every time, it's something really special and the fun and energy that there is on stage is just something else.

Have you had to sacrifice anything to pursue your dream of becoming a professional dancer?

When I moved to London to join The Royal Ballet Upper School I had to leave Italy and my home and my family, but they've always been super supportive, and I can't thank them enough!

What have been the highlights of your career at English National Ballet so far?

My highlights in the company include dancing The Novice in The Cage by Jerome Robbins, one of the main pas de deux in Azsure Barton's Fantastic Beings as part of the Voices of America triple bill, winning the People's Choice award at last year's Emerging Dancer competition, Dust by Akram Khan and cygnets in Derek Deane’s Swan Lake.

What does it mean to you to be an Emerging Dancer finalist? For me being one of the six finalists of this year’s Emerging Dancer is a wonderful opportunity to perform, improve and challenge myself. It will be a great experience and I'm sure we are going to have so much fun on stage.

What are you most looking forward to about the Emerging Dancer Awards evening?

I'm looking forward to the evening and to see and share the stage with my colleagues and friends.

Rentaro Nakaaki, from Kobe, Japan

How/why did you first start to dance? At what point did you realise that you wanted to be a professional dancer?

My parents made me go to ballet when I was six. When I was 12, I did my first ever competition and I was shocked and inspired by the other dancers performing. That's when I started to want to be a good dancer, and progressed from there.

Is there any dancer in particular who inspires you, or who you especially admire?

Tetsuya Kumakawa, Jeffrey Cirio and Mikhail Baryshnikov.

What drives your passion to dance?

The atmosphere on the stage when audiences watch you performing.

Have you had to sacrifice anything to pursue your dream of becoming a professional dancer?

I always wanted to go to university.

What have been the highlights of your career at English National Ballet so far?

Getting nominated for Emerging Dancer!

What does it mean to you to be an Emerging Dancer finalist?

It is very special for me to have the chance to perform by myself on stage with this big company. It's going to be an unforgettable evening for sure.

What are you most looking forward to about the Emerging Dancer Awards evening?

Being on stage and performing my best, I can’t wait.

Shale Wagman, from Toronto, Canada

How/why did you first start to dance? At what point did you realise that you wanted to be a professional dancer?

I was sure from when I was six that I wanted to be a dancer. I took swimming lessons and the swimming instructor’s son was a dancer and he danced at this competition studio in Canada. I went to audition at the studio and the dance teacher asked me to show what I could do and so I started doing cartwheels and splits and he grabbed my feet and started pointing them and told my mum that I needed to start in competitive immediately. So from there I began to focus on ballet and trained with the Princess Grace Academy Monte Carlo, and later I won the Prix de Lausanne which led me to English National Ballet.

Is there any dancer in particular who inspires you, or who you especially admire?

Rudolph Nureyev has always been a huge inspiration to me. I think he was such a complete artist who was so versatile and had that ‘it’ factor - the star quality. You can do a pirouette, you can do ten, but you can’t teach someone how to have that extra oomph and artistic quality on stage. Nothing really matters if you can’t express yourself on stage and move an audience.

What drives your passion to dance?

I wouldn’t say my passion is driven from a particular thing; I would just say that I was born to dance. I don’t really need to be motivated to do it because it’s my life, it’s everything I breathe. I just feel like I’m able to express myself and have that outlet to be able to communicate what I can’t in words. It’s everything I want, I dedicate every minute to dance, and it’s something that I will forever love. I don’t think I will lose my love for it. It’s the only thing that’s always there that’s constant. I will always have dance to lean on.

Have you had to sacrifice anything to pursue your dream of becoming a professional dancer?

In my mind I don’t think I’ve sacrificed anything, because this is everything I want. This is what I want to be and what I’m working for. Dance is a never ending process of perfectionism. You’re in the studio all the time looking at yourself in the mirror and there’s always so much room to grow artistically, technically, physically. I don’t think that there’s any time to waste in this career. I’ve had to sacrifice time but this is serving me and my soul to the maximum that it can so I think you should give the maximum time back.

What have been the highlights of your career at English National Ballet so far?

Doing the pas de trois in Swan Lake has been a highlight so far. I loved being on stage with my two partners, and actually every time I did the pas de trois I had different partners which was always very exciting. It gave me the experience that I wanted on stage.

What does it mean to you to be an Emerging Dancer finalist?

I think it means that’s I’ve shown I’m able to serve the company in a good way and that I’m able to be reliable as a dancer and I’ve shown that I’ve worked hard to get to this place. I’ll continue to grow with the company and that’s what I want – to keep growing and improving. I guess this competition is the greatest thing for that because we get to work on pas de deux and contemporary pieces and with choreographers. We get the experience that a principal gets in the company but we get to have it now. We can do something that we’ve never done before. It also means that I’m growing in what I want to become.

What are you most looking forward to about the Emerging Dancer Awards evening?

To be on stage! I’m looking forward to connecting with the audience because that’s the main reason why I love being on stage so much.

*All photos copyright Laurent Liotardo

*Thanks to Laura Nixon, English National Ballet and all of the finalists


bottom of page