top of page

BBC Young Dancer 2017: The Finalists Have Their Say!


It’s finally here! Tonight you can tune in to the Final of BBC Young Dancer 2017 on BBC 2 at 8pm. Before you tuck in to what is sure to be a thrilling end to this exciting competition, you may want to find out a little bit more about the Finalists.

I asked some of the Finalists what inspires them, drives them and who influences them and found out what it would mean to be crowned the BBC’s Young Dancer of 2017…

John-William Watson, 18: Contemporary Category (Wildcard)

I started dancing very gradually throughout high school, from one class a week to two, then three and so forth, in varying styles until I joined the Phoenix Dance Theatre Youth Academy. Then throughout college I trained in various styles at CAPA College and Momentum Dance in Wakefield. I was part of the National Youth Dance Company for two years and it was there that I realised contemporary dance was my passion. The varying artists I worked with within that company and the vast range of other young dancers I met, and indeed what I learnt from them, was something that I will keep with me.

Many different people inspire me in dance, from teachers that I have had, to people in my classes that surround me everyday and of course the audiences who enjoy the work that I do. I’m inspired by James O’Hara, whom I met and worked with at NYDC in 2016. He motivated me and inspired me to train abroad in Belgium and his openness and kindness in sharing his experiences has helped me to become the dancer in training that I am today.

I’m a curious person and this drives my passion. I’m driven by what I still have to experience in dance and what possibility I have within my body that is yet to be discovered. I started dancing quite late and I was so naïve when I began to dance, but I think this pushed me and made me more curious to pursue this career. It has been so fulfilling.

Dance is as much a creative and artistic practice as it is an athletic one. Thus the training demands a lot of time, blood sweat and tears and I have had to sacrifice my time to enable me to train. I wouldn’t want to do anything else, however, times with family and friends has suffered a little. I’m lucky that they understand and I know it’s the right thing to do.

Throughout this competition, although it is only a short period, I have found a small flavour for choreography, so maybe one day I can explore this interest further. The competition has been amazing. I’ve enjoyed performing alongside others and meeting people from both my style and other styles of dance. My focus throughout this competition hasn’t been to win at any point, rather to share my journey and who I am as a dancer and artist. Now that we are closer to the final though, it would be a wonderful thing to win and to know that those watching have been moved or have enjoyed what I have done on stage.

Rhys Antoni Yeomans, 19: Ballet Category

I was first introduced to ballet at the tender age of 10, when I auditioned for the role of Billy in Billy Elliott the Musical in London. It’s the story of a boy who loved to dance (ballet in particular) and this really moved and inspired me, especially as it was set during a time where ballet was not a profession often considered by boys. I was offered the part and during the training process leading up to my first performance, I could feel my love and passion for ballet and dance beginning to grow. The experience made me realise that I wanted to be a performer on the stage for the rest of my life.

Steven McRae, Principal dancer with the Royal Ballet, has always inspired me from an early age as he is such a versatile dancer and is technically exquisite. If I could follow in his footsteps I will have achieved everything I have set out to do.

Since being at the English National Ballet School, I have realised that this is want I want to do for the rest of my career, as I thoroughly enjoy every single moment that I dance. I love being able to see my hard work pay off by seeing the constant improvement of my classical technique and I also enjoy investing time and effort into learning many other styles of dance to challenge myself and to make me much more of a versatile dancer.

It was difficult to maintain a connection with my school friends whilst growing up, due to the heavy schedule of being a part of the show (Billy Elliot) and the never ending amount of ballet classes I had to attend. I would rehearse all day and then perform on stage in the evening, so there was barely any time to catch up with my friends. I was very fortunate to obtain a scholarship with the English National Ballet School in 2014 where I have been training for the past three years but it has meant that I have had to sacrifice a large amount of my social life. I am dedicated and achieving my dream so it’s a worthy sacrifice!

My ultimate aim is to be part of a professional ballet company and perform the works of established choreographers such as Christopher Wheeldon, William Forsythe, David Dawson and Marius Petipa to name a few, for audiences all over the world.

There have been so many personal highlights throughout this competition and it has been an incredible opportunity for me. One of main reasons I entered the show was to be potentially seen by Artistic Directors from some of the biggest ballet companies in the United Kingdom. I have also had the pleasure of performing some great classical choreography including a solo and a pas de deux on stage, which has been an exceptional opportunity.

To win the BBC Young Dancer competition would mean so much to me. It would give me the confidence and determination to fulfill my dreams. I would also hope that if I won, more people would give recognition to the world of ballet that it so rightfully deserves.

Nafisah Baba, 20: Contemporary Category

I first started showing an interest in dance when I was 18 months old. I was watching an episode of The Teletubbies and my mum caught me trying to tap along, while watching the kids on TV! When I was 15 I had the opportunity to attend ProDanza Summerschool in Cuba, Havana with my dance school, The West London School of Dance. When I stepped off the stage after one of our performances I was buzzing with adrenaline and felt so alive. It was at that moment that I realised I wanted to dance professionally.

I’ve always loved watching Michaela DePrince dance. Her story, her passion and her drive to do what she loves is inspiring. I also find Alvin Ailey dancers Rachel McLaren and Jacqueline Green inspiring. Two words that come to mind when I think of them are powerful and fearless – things I aspire to be.

I think that many of us watch dance to feel something. There’s something extraordinary about being able to lose yourself for a couple of hours and forget everything other than what you are watching in front of you. It’s difficult to describe the feeling of witnessing something so incredible, especially if you are watching a company or an individual that hugely inspires you. To think that someone who watches me dance could feel the same way definitely fuels my passion to dance. I also feel dance is a way to express yourself when words are insufficient. My ambition is to be a part of a professional dance company as well as perform the works of established choreographers. I want to travel, and tour around the world too. There’s nothing I enjoy more than dancing so if that does not drive my passion I don’t know what will!

I have had to sacrifice a lot to pursue my dream. I started playing the violin in Junior School and continued into Senior School before giving it up due to my hectic schedule. The biggest sacrifice I’ve had to make would be sports. I was in many of the sports teams at my school and was training after school and going on to my dance classes afterwards almost every day. If I wasn’t dancing, I was training or taking part in sports matches, and when I wasn’t doing sports I was dancing! Netball was my favourite sport, and I trained with the Middlesex County Netball League on Saturdays which I eventually gave up as it clashed with my weekend dance training. I definitely do miss all these things but I’m happy I chose dance and who says I can never pick these hobbies up again!

I can’t say how incredible it would be to win the BBC Young Dancer competition. It would be a dream! It’s not just about winning though. I feel I have gained many things throughout this process that will stay with me for life, and I’m sure the other contestants feel this way too. Whatever happens I think we have all won something individually no matter how big or small it is. I’ve gained confidence and belief in myself as an artist and as an individual and I’m proud to have come this far.

Jodelle Douglas, 21: Street Dance Category

Growing up, I was always involved in music and dance but I started to take dance more seriously when I was 12 years old and saw a friend of mine expressing movement to me. A couple of years later I realised that dance was all I wanted to do and that I wanted to become a professional dancer.

There isn't one particular person within dance that inspires me as I take inspiration from everybody. What drives my passion to dance is my family and friends and I also think that what I’ve been through so far in my life has driven me.

I don't feel like my dedication to dance affects my life as a young person, because it's literally all I have ever wanted to do. Growing up, I wasn’t that academic so I would spend all of my time dancing.

I would love to have my own company one day that takes ordinary aspects of life and creates art from them, perhaps through dance or maybe through a completely different medium, who knows! I have spent the past couple of years modeling and I have found a liking for fashion so I would love to bridge dance with fashion and see what I could do with it.

The biggest highlight for me in this competition has been watching everyone express their art form whether that’s street dance, ballet, south Asian or contemporary. It is so inspiring because watching movement in different ways has helped me as an artist. Winning my category was a huge highlight for me as it’s something that I’ve wanted to achieve ever since I entered the competition for the first time in 2015. (Jodelle reached the street dance category finals in 2015)

Winning the whole thing would be more than amazing, but for me it's a win-win situation because I get to perform my craft on such an amazing platform.

*Copyright Julia Dixon

*Photos Copyright BBC

*Thanks to the BBC, Eva Mason and all of the Finalists


bottom of page